Pierce Law Home ... | Library Home ... | IP Mall ... | Alumni Home ... | GroupWise
logo banner


About ... | Catalogs ... | Intellectual Property ... | Publications ... | QuickClicks | Research ... | Services ... | Hours   | Contact Us  | Search MELcat

Cases

Citations

Fact Research

Federal Regulations

Internet Research Guide

International Human Rights

International Law

Law Reviews

Legislative History

NH Legislative History

Regulations

Shepardizing

Statutes

What is a Legislative History
and How is it used?*

A legislative history is a collection of the documents created by Congress or a state legislature during the process leading up to the enactment of a law. The legislative history provides evidence that members of the legislative body were aware of particular issues and facts, and includes comments and recommendations of committees and individual members of the legislative body.

A legislative history helps determine the intent of the legislators when a particular statute was passed. When a question arises concerning the applicability or interpretation of a statute, a legislative history can be consulted to better understand the reasons for the enactment of that statute.

WHAT DOCUMENTS MAKE UP A FEDERAL LEGISLATIVE HISTORY?

A federal legislative history includes documentation from all steps in the law-making process. Different documents carry varying degrees of weight in showing congressional intent. The documents that can make up a legislative history include:

  1. Bills and amendments. The text of a bill as introduced, reported from committees, and acted upon by either or both houses, provides information on the original language of its sponsor as well as evidence of deliberate exclusions and inclusions to the bill as it made its way through the legislative process. Bills are numbered consecutively by the chamber in which they were introduced for the two sessions of each Congress (e.g. S.2 is the second bill introduced in the Senate during a particular Congress).
  2. Hearings. These are primarily transcripts of the testimony of witnesses before House and Senate committees. Hearings are used to illustrate that certain issues and considerations were made known to Congress through the hearing process. Hearings may be held on an individual bill or a group of bills on the same or similar subject. Not all hearings are published. There is often a lengthy delay for those hearings which are officially published. Final official versions may include other documentary evidence presented to a committee during the hearing process.
  3. Committee Prints. Committee prints can be research studies, compilations of materials or statutes, background information, or working drafts of a bill. Not all committee prints are published or distributed. Some may be reissued as a House or Senate Document or Report or published in the Congressional Record. Although not significant in determining legislative intent they can provide valuable and often hard to find information for the researcher.
  4. Committee Reports. These are committees' official communications to Congress explaining the purpose of a bill and setting forth the recommendations for passage of the bill. Many also contain a report by the minority members of the committee on their objections to the language or purpose of the bill. Reports may be issued by House, Senate and Conference (i.e. joint) committees, and are numbered consecutively for each Congress. Committee reports, especially Conference committees, tend to carry a great deal of weight in ascertaining congressional intent.
  5. Debates. These include all activities which occur on the floor of the two houses of Congress. While individual comments during debates are not proof of congressional intent, statements by the bill's sponsor or chair of the committee reporting the bill, especially those with the stated intention of clarifying or explaining the bill, can have significant weight. Debates are particularly important when amendments to the bill are offered on the floor of the House or Senate.
  6. Presidential Messages. Sent to Congress by the President, these messages are the comments by the President explaining the reasons for suggesting, signing or vetoing legislation.

WHAT ARE THE MAJOR FINDING TOOLS FOR COMPILING A FEDERAL LEGISLATIVE HISTORY?

HOW DO I COMPILE A FEDERAL LEGISLATIVE HISTORY?

To compile a legislative history you must first obtain citations to the documents that comprise a legislative history, then locate and read the documents. Listed here are steps to follow and finding tools to use.

  1. To see if a legislative history has already been compiled:

    If you have:

    From:

    You can use:

    Public Law Number

    major legislation only - any date

    Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories

     

    1941 or later

    US Code Congressional and Administrative News

     

    1970 - 1983

    CIS Annual Abstracts volumes (1970-1983), "Legislative Histories" section

     

    1983 or later CIS

    Legislative Histories volumes

     

    1970 or later

    Lexis-Nexis Congressional Universe "CIS Index" database

     

    1973 or later Thomas

    - "Public Laws by Law Number"

    Statutes at Large citation

    major legislation only - any date

    Sources of Compiled Legislaive Histories t

     

    1941 or later

    US Code Congressional and Administrative News

     

    1970 or later

    LexisNexis Congressional Universe "CIS Index" database

    Popular Name

    major legislation only - any date

    Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories

    Year or Congress and Bill Number

    1973 or later

    Thomas - "Bill Summary & Status"

     

    1970 or later

    LexisNexis Congressional Universe "CIS Index" database


  2. To find a Public Law number:

    If you have

    From:

    You can use:

    US Code, USCA, or USCS citation

     

    The credits/history citations at end of code section text

    Popular Name

     

    Shepard's Acts and Cases by Popular Name;

    Popular Names Table of the US Code , US Code Annotated or US Code Service

     

    legislation enacted in 1983 or later

    CIS Index Legislative Histories volumes - "Index of Subjects and Names" table

     

    legislation enacted in 1937 or later

    CCH Congressional Index - Enactments section; "Names of Laws Amended/Enacted"

    Year or Congress and Bill Number

    legislation enacted in 1983 or later

    CIS Index Legislative Histories volumes - "Index of Bill Numbers"

     

    legislation enacted from 1970 - 1983 CIS Cumulative

    Index volumes - Supplementary Indexes section - "Index of Bill Numbers"

     

    legislation enacted in 1983 or later

    Congressional Record - "History of Bills and Resolutions" section

     

    legislation enacted in 1973 or later

    GPO Access - History of Bills and Resolutions database

     

    legislation enacted since 1941 Thomas - "

    Summary of Bills & Status"

     

    legislation enacted since 1937 US Code

    Congressional and Administrative News - "Bills & Joint Resolutions Enacted" table

     

     

    CCH Congressional Index - Enactments section; "Enactments by Bill/Resolution Number"


  3. To find a bill number:

    If you have

    From:

    You can use:

    Public Law Number or Statutes at Large citation

    legislation enacted in 1901 or later

    United States Statutes at Large

     

    legislation enacted in 1941 or later

    US Code Congressional and Administrative News - "Legislative History" table

    Public Law Number

    legislation enacted in 1973 or later

    Thomas - "Public Laws by Law Number"

     

    legislation enacted in 1983 or later

    CIS Index Legislative Histories volumes

     

    legislation enacted from 1970 - 1983

    CIS Annual Abstract volumes - "Legislative Histories" section

     

    legislation enacted in 1937 or later

    CCH Congressional Index - Enactments section "Enactments by Public Law Number"

    Subject or topic information only

     

    CCH Congressional Index - Subject Index

     

     

    Thomas - "Bill Summary and Status"

     

     

    GPO Access - History of Bills database

     

     

    Congressional Record database or Congressional Record Index database

     

     

    CIS Congressional Universe - "Bills" database


  4. To determine what actions have been taken on a bill:

    If you want:

    From:

    You can use:

    Committee actions, committee reports and floor activities

    legislation in 1973 or later

    Thomas - "Bill Summary & Status"

     

    for legislation in 1937 or later

    CCH Congressional Index - "Status" section

    Committees, Reports, floor activities only

     

    Congressional Record Index - "History of Bills and Resolutions"


  5. To locate citations to committee reports:

    If you have:

    From:

    You can use:

    Report numbers only

    1873 or later

    Congressional Record - Daily Digest - "History of Bills Enacted into Public Law"

     

    for laws enacted in 1941 or after

    US Code Congressional and Administrative News (may also include text of selected reports)

    Reports numbers, abstracts, and references to CIS microfiche

    legislation in 1970 or later

    CIS/Index and Abstracts

    LexisNexis Congressional Universe - "Congressional Publications" (also provides full text of reports from 1995 and later)

     

    legislation in 1937 or later

    CCH Congressional Index - "Status" section

     

    legislation from 1789 - 1969

    CIS US Serial Set Index

    LexisNexis Congressional Universe - "Congressional Indexes 1789-1969" database


  6. To find citations to hearings on a bill or general topic

    If you have

    From:

    You can use:

    Bill number, subject information, or persons testifying

    legislation in 1970 or later

    CIS Index - "Index of Subjects and Names" or "Index of Bill Numbers" (a supplementary index contained within the "Index of Subjects and Names")

     

     

    LexisNexis Congressional Universe "CIS Index" database (also provides full text of selected testimony from last 10 years)

     

    legislation from 1833 - 1969

    CIS Congressional Committee

    Hearings Index

     

    legislation from 1789-1969

    LexisNexis Congressional Universe "CIS Index" database 1789-1969


  7. To find citations to Congressional debates

    If you have:

    From:

    You can use:

    Bill number

    1873 or later

    Congressional Record Index - "History of Bills and Resolutions"

    Name of sponsor or subject information

    1873 or later

    Congressional Record Index

     

    1989 or later

    Thomas - Congressional Record database

     

    1983 or later GPO

    Access - Congressional Record Index database


  8. To find Presidential messages

    If you have:

    From:

    You can use:

    Bill number

    1873 or later

    Congressional Record Index - "History of Bills and Resolutions"

     

    1983 or later GPO

    Access - Congressional Record Index database

     

    1965 or later

    Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents

FURTHER REFERENCE

Cohen, Morris L., Robert C. Berring, and Kent C. Olson, How to Find the Law (West Publishing). Chapter on "Legislative History." Main Stacks   KF240 .H65 1983

Morehead, Joe, Introduction to United States Government Information Sources (Libraries Unlimited). Chapter on "Legislative Branch Information Sources." Library Office   Z1223.Z7 M665 1999

Singer, Norman J., Statutes and Statutory Construction [Sutherland on Statutory Construction ] (Clark Boardman Callaghan). Chapter on "Extrinsic Aids-Legislative History." Reference KF425 .S9 2000

Wren, Christopher G. and Jill Robinson Wren, The Legal Research Manual (A-R Editions). Appendix on "Researching Legislative History." Main Stacks KF240 .W7 1986

*Copyright 2003, The Boston College Law Library. Used with permission. Not for sale.